Creating a Better Library Environment

DSC00001

Painted outside wall of library

Welcoming wall clearly identifies the Library

The outside of the library at WBHS is a great visual statement about what the library offers and was here when I arrived. What I’d like to show over the course of a few posts is the gradual change that has happened inside the library to create a more flexible space with clearly defined zones of different activity. Unfortunately I didn’t think to take photos before I started so I don’t have anything that shows what it looked like at the beginning of 2013 when I was appointed to the school. You will have to imagine the bland creamy pillars, large rusty newspaper drawer unit, bulky photocopier, stacks of spare chairs like a furniture storeroom, corralled video shelves, and semi-dismantled and abandoned ceiling fan. The one picture I could find shows the video collection using a chunk of floor space in the body of the library.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *